Collections and Personal Papers:


Subject Guide: Archival Records Relating to Martin Luther King, Jr.

The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. paid two visits to Syracuse University. In 1961, King came to the University to give a speech titled "The American Dream," which concerned itself with the nature of racism in the country and the ways in which he hoped to conquer it. He returned in 1965 to give another speech, "The Role of Education in the Civil Rights Movement," where he discussed inequality in education and spoke of a plan to propose a bill that would provide people with a basic income.

The University honors King with an annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration, which includes a dinner, keynote speakers, entertainment, and an award ceremony for outstanding members of the community.

The Syracuse University Archives has created a subject guide to aid researchers interested in its archival materials that relate to Martin Luther King, Jr. It was compiled by Erin Carter G'16.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in his office Audiovisual Collection

  • "The American Dream" Speech, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. at Syracuse University, July 13, 1961 (F/V 5432)

  • "The Role of Education in the Civil Rights Movement," Martin Luther King, Jr. at Syracuse University, July 15, 1965 (A/V 00103A). Note: This is a service CD made from the original 7" reel in the Library Collection.

Clipping Files

  • King, Dr. Martin Luther, Jr.

  • King, Dr. Martin Luther, Jr. - 1961 Speech

  • King, Dr. Martin Luther, Jr. - 1965 Speech

Lectures, Speeches, and Addresses Reference Collection

  • Martin Luther King, Jr., "The Role of Education in the Civil Rights Movement" - Summer Sessions Banquet - July 15, 1965 (Box 2)

Library Collection

  • Media Services Miscellaneous Tapes: 8005 - 56 7/16/1965 Summer Sessions, The Role of Education in the Civil Rights Movement, Dr. Martin Luther King, 7" audio reel (A/V 00103B). Note: Service CD stored in Audiovisual Collection.

Portrait Files

  • King, Martin Luther, Jr.