Collections and Personal Papers:


Subject Guide:
Archival Records Relating to the Military, Wars, Veterans, and the University

Syracuse University's connection with the military and veterans dates back to World War I when the University opened the campus to the Students' Army Training Corp (SATC), part of a federal government military training program. The Syracuse University Reserve Officers Training Corp (ROTC) began shortly after and remains a valued program. During the Second World War the University offered military training, including the Army Specialized Training Program (ASTP), Air Force Cadet Training, Russian & Slavic Language Training, and the US Cadet Nurses Corp.

The Servicemen's Readjustment Act of 1944 - better known as the GI Bill - offered a college education to millions of returning veterans. No university in the country was more closely identified with the GI Bill than Syracuse. Although still small by national standards, the University ranked first in New York State and 17th in the country in veteran enrollment.

Programs such as Navy Photojournalism, Entrepreneurship Bootcamp for Veterans with Disabilities (EBV), and the Institute for Veterans and Military Families show the continued commitment Syracuse University has to supporting the United States military and its veterans.

To support the increased effort on behalf of Syracuse University to be the top university for veterans, the University Archives has created a subject guide to aid researchers interested in materials that relate to the military, wars, veterans, and Syracuse University.

Student Army Training Corps in front of Hall of Languages, 1918 Alumni Papers

As an adjunct to the 1997 Archives exhibition - Remembering the GI Bulge: Veteran Impact on the Campus - the University invited World War II veterans to share their memories and donate materials to the Archives. Several veterans or their families responded.

  • Gabe Josephson '50 Papers
  • Attilio A. Mascone '48 Papers
  • George McPhillips '49 Papers
  • Stanley Nowocienski '47 Papers
  • N. Lester Stoddard '50 Papers
  • Jerry Happek '51 Photographs
  • Wesley Peterson '50 Photographs

Archives' Online Exhibitions

Clippings Files

Female and male cadets repelling down a cliff, circa 1980

  • Academics - Nursing, School of, 1930-1967
  • Military and Wars, SU during the Wars
    Civil Defense
    General
    Gulf War
    Iraq War
    ROTC:
    1910-1963
    1964-1967
    Air Force
    Angel Flight
    Army Air Corps
    Army Specialized Training Program
    LaBelle Corps
    Vietnam Conflict
    World War I (3 folders)
    World War II:
    Civilian Pilot Training Program
    Curriculum
    Draft Reserve Board
    Post War Surveys on Campus Life
    Rumor Clinic
    Service Records List
    SU/Colgate London Reunion, 1944
    War Service Hospital Unit

College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean Records

  • Military Independent Study Program (Box 103)   Restricted

Institute for Veterans and Military Families Collection

Newhouse School of Public Communications Records

  • 25 Years of Military Photojournalism at Syracuse University, 1963-1988 (Box 51)
  • Military Photojournalism, 1960 (Box 51)
  • Navy Program in Photojournalism, 1960-1988 (Box 51)

Photograph Collection

ROTC members on the Quad in front of Carnegie Library, 1920s

  • Academics - Newhouse Experience, The - Brochure by 1983 Military Photojournalism Class, 1983
  • Military and Wars:
    Air Force ROTC
    Air Force ROTC - Aviation and Pilot Training Program
    Air Force ROTC - Bob Hope Visit 1966
    Army Comptrollership School
    Rome Air Development Center-Griffiss A.F.B.
    ROTC:
    1920s - Oversize
    1920s-1930s
    1940s (Non-World War II)
    1950s-1960s
    1950s-1960s - Oversize
    1970s
    1980s-2000s
    Student Army Training Corps, 1918 (3 folders)
    Student Army Training Corps - Oversize
    Student Organizations, Non-ROTC
    World War I
    World War II
    World War II - Oversize
  • Students - Veterans
  • Buildings and Grounds - Temporary and Prefab Buildings
    1940s-1970s
    Collendale
    Drumlins Trailers, 1946-1950s
    University
    Model Building
    Quonseteria

Cadet Nurses taking part in dedication of new School of Nursing, 1945 School of Nursing Records

  • Cadet Nurse Corp and Wartime Nursing Correspondence, 1943-1947 (Box 13)

Treasurer's Office - Hugh C. Gregg Records

  • Air Force USAF, 1951-1953 (Box 4)
  • Army Program ROTC, 1945-1946 (Box 4)
  • Housing: Plan for Veterans Temporary Units, 1946 (Box 12)
  • Veterans' Administration, 1949-1951 (Box 27)
  • Contracts: Army Air Force (Box 28)
  • Contracts: Navy Department (Box 28)
  • Contracts: Counseling of Veterans (Box 28)
  • Contracts: War Department (Box 28)

University Senate Records

  • Military and Air Science (MST, ASC) course proposals, etc., 1971-1976 (Box 96)   Restricted

World Wars and the Military Collection