Collections and Personal Papers:
Subject Guide: 1970 Student Strike
On May 4, 1970 four Kent State students were killed and nine others wounded by Ohio National Guard troops during a protest against the American invasion of Cambodia. Those killings prompted a nation-wide protest by college students and shut down over 400 educational institutions. At Syracuse University students barricaded entrances to campus, broke windows, marched peacefully downtown, and staged a sit-in in the Tolley Administration Building.
To commemorate this important moment in Syracuse University's history the University Archives has established this web site for the 1970 Student Strike that provides researchers with a subject guide to its holdings including clippings, student publications, photographs, slides, papers of the Chancellor, schools and colleges and more.
Student strike graffiti on the Hall of Languages, 1970 [Image: 07-0205]
Subject Guide for Materials in the Syracuse University Archives on the 1970 Student Strike
Collections & Papers
- Special Events - Commencement (1970)
- Activities and Organizations - Students for Democratic Society (SDS)
- Controversies and Problems - International Issues, Vietnam
- Controversies and Problems - Demonstrations - Student Strike
- Alumni - Ifshin, David
- Academic Affairs Records, Task Force for Academic Innovation Files, 1970 (Chaired by Michael O. Sawyer, the task force was appointed for a full semester by Chancellor Corbally in June 1970 as a direct outcome of the student strike of May 1970). Boxes 26 and 27.
- Academic Affairs, Vice Chancellor Melvin A. Eggers Papers. Student Strike, 1970. Box 8.
- Chancellor Papers, John E. Corbally, Jr.. Strike, May 1970, and Slides of Fire, 1970 (7 folders). Boxes 37 and 38. Restricted
- Larry Elin Papers (Associate Professor, TV Radio and Film), Box 1. Includes newspaper articles, newspapers, digital cassette tapes of interviews of alumni, and color slides.
- J. Robert Greene Papers (Author of The Eggers Years). Box 6. Restricted
- College for Human Development Records. Dean Michael Marge, Strike Folder 1970, 1972. Box 9.
- Roscoe Martin Papers. Political Science, Strike 1970, 1972. Box 23.
- Maxwell School Records. Dean Alan Campbell, Student Strike, May 1970. Box 5.
- Maxwell School Records. History Department, Student Strike, May 1970. Box 9.
- Newhouse School of Public Communications Records. Student Strike Preparation 1970. Box 6
- News and Public Affairs Records, Mary English, Editor, The Record. Student Strike 1970. Box 9.
- Harvey A. Schwartz '70 Papers (Editor, The Promethean). Box 1
- Student Activities Reference Collection. Student Politics, Petitions and Strikes. Box 10.
- University College Office of the Dean Records. Dean Frank Funk, Student Strike - Syracuse University, 1970. Box 99.
- College of Visual and Performing Arts Office of the Dean Records. Deans Lawrence Schmeckebier and August Freundlich, Files, 1965-1974. Box 89.
Photographs & Slides
- Eichsteadt, James Eric. "Shut It Down!": The Syracuse University Student Strike and Anti-War Protests, May 1970. Master's Thesis, Syracuse University, 1998.
- John Austin Meyer Papers. Slides, Syracuse University - Student Strike, May 1970. Box 38.
- Photograph Collection, Controversies and Problems - Demonstrations - Student Strike 1970. Box 118.
- Photograph Collection, Special Events - Commencement, 1970. Box 130 (3 folders).
- Portrait File. Corbally, John, Chancellor.
- Portrait File. Ifshin, David '71, President of National Student Association.
- Vietnam Protest Poster, "Vietnam Pledge Card." MC 22-2.
- Alumni News 52 (Summer 1970).
- Daily Orange (Available on microfilm at Bird Library), 1970.
- Greene, John R. Syracuse University: The Egger Years. Vol. V. Syracuse: Syracuse University, 1998.
- Onondagan (Syracuse University Yearbook), 1971 and 1972.
- Orsino, Patricia, ed. A Century on Piety Hill: Syracuse University Centennial History. Syracuse:
Syracuse University, 1970.
- Promethean (student publication), 1970.